Reflections and Resolutions

New year’s is a very strange time. I have a terrible memory personally but all the shows they put out at the end of the year and all the round ups sites do get you thinking about how much stuff actually happens in a year, hell how much stuff can happen globally in a month or a week or a day.

Much as I hate to say it I don’t think 2011 has been a particularly good year for me, certainly it was not filled with as many changes as 2010 or 2009, but a year shouldn’t necessarily be measured just by it’s changes and change isn’t always positive. This year I had to shut the door on a part of my potential future life that most people assume they will be able to have and may even take for granted. It was a heartbreaking decision, one I never expected to make at 22 and a future I didn’t even know I wanted until forced to examine my feelings. (In fact before I had to decide I would have pretty much said flat out that I didn’t want it, what’s that about people always wanting what they can’t have?) The decision, however, was necessary for me to become who I am and who I want to be and I can’t regret it. I can mourn it, part of me probably still is, but hey *insert tired cliche here*. 

It wasn’t all bad of course. There were many good times spent with friends, visiting Australia was awesome, finally getting into 2nd year tough, but even more awesome, progressing further along the realisation of who I am, getting involved with LGBT committee and becoming more sociable within the university aspect of my life, cementing friendships, making new ones and many, many, maaaany drunken times. (Tuffest 2011 anyone?).

Now that I have reflected, it is time for some resolve.

1. Stop drinking as much. It is not good for your physical or mental health. It is not good for your bank balance. You may go out once a week drinking spending no more than £20 on alcohol OR twice a week spending no more than £10 a time. (Exceptions – end of exams, your (no one else’s!) birthday, on holiday (a proper one, not just ‘easter!’), festivals.

2. Try to cut your debt by half. You are frivolous with your money, dear Tuffen, and finishing uni with all the debt from the government is more than enough, let alone the banks. Drinking less should help to cut this, as will limiting yourself to no more than one takeaway a week and no more than one other kind of meal out a week. Review financial situation in three months. Keep an eye out for jobs (after exam period).

3. Lose weight. Drinking less will help this. Eating less takeout will help this. Also, yes the buses are only 50p, but if you got up 25 minutes earlier you could enjoy a nice walk and start listening to more music. Remember music? You’re always forgetting how much you like it until you start listening to it again. Review after exam period.

4. Quit smoking. Yeah this one is gonna flat out suck so you’re just going to have to do it gradually. Not drinking as much will help this as you chain it when you’re drinking. Count the cigarettes you have this week, aim to cut down by 10% every week and to have quit by May at the latest.

5. Blog more. You have a terrible memory, try and write a blog once a week (AT LEAST every other week) so that you have something you can look back on in five years when you’re trying to remember what you were doing with your life at 23.

A tad ambitious perhaps but since when has ambition been a bad thing eh?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections and Resolutions

  1. Acco Spoot says:

    “4. Quit smoking. Yeah this one is gonna flat out suck so you’re just going to have to do it gradually. Not drinking as much will help this as you chain it when you’re drinking. Count the cigarettes you have this week, aim to cut down by 10% every week and to have quit by May at the latest.”

    I would suggest not doing this the same time as you cut down on drink, it’s fucking nuts giving up ciggys, I should know, I’ve quit three times already, they say nicotine dependency is as powerful as heroin. Phone the NHS helplines, book an appointment, be sure to have a good few weeks/months without any major stresses on the way and be sure to remain calm, nothing defeats the joy of having given up like you having snapped at your friends during the worse moments.

    • I have to quit smoking before my surgery in the summer but maybe you’re right and I should wait another month or so before I try, would probably be best to get exam stress out of the way first! Ideally I need to have quit 1 – 2 months before hence a deadline of May. I figured gradually cutting down wouldn’t be too bad but I am probably underestimating it.

Leave a Reply

